Book of Rememberance

Malachi 3:16

Long-Suffering

on December 27, 2010

In Gods Word, he often times warns us, admonishes and even promises us that we will face times and situations of long-suffering. I wonder how many of us actually take time to let that sink in? I know I never did! I read it as one word “long-suffering” and chalked it up to being the same or similar to patience. (which by the way the amplified bible says is only produced by pressure – yikes!)

If you have never asked the Lord for patience before consider yourself smart haha its a rough ride cause the only way for us to gain more patient is by…you guessed it – waiting! I have prayed that “very spiritual” prayer before “Lord help me to be patient”, then I got the slowest lines possible when I was in a rush, and other similar pressures.

But Long-suffering. This is different! This is particularly hard, whereas patience causes annoyance and then you make it through, long-suffering requires extended patience and the pain is seemingly unbearable at times (though it does tend to end right before my breaking point – God is good!) I realized that half my problem is in my view to this word it is not long-suffering but loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong-suffering! Who knows how long? could be a week that seems like a year or could be a yr or even more! The suffering I am currently facing is good for me, but man does it ever hurt, God wasnt kidding! it is long and it is suffering.

Whats your story ? do you have a tale of long-suffering to share? How did/do you deal? what gives you the hope to push through?

I was in the midst of a particularly painful night,  when God spoke to me at 330am with a verse that I have read several times and never applied to my own life. Psalm 22 verse 14-15 from the amplified. Most know this as the psalm from the cross. but can it also apply to our own lives? the Lord leads me to believe so.

Ps. 22:14,15 I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint. My heart is like wax, it is softened with anguish and melted down within me. My strength is dried up like a fragment of clay pottery, with thirst my tongue cleaves to my jaws; and you have brought me into the dust of death. (ref. John 19:28)

Leave a Reply

