Book of Rememberance

Malachi 3:16

Clean Thy House

on October 10, 2011

As I was praying, and meditating today I found it rather hard to focus. My desire was for the Lord. I hunger after Him so much these days I just cant wait to spend time with Him!

So what was the problem? I already took authority of every assignment on my mind and time. I welcomed the Holy Spirit, prayed…whats left? I was ready! But my mind wasnt there. I just couldn’t focus. My house is a wreck! Cant concentrate – gotta clean!

And I began to wonder to the Lord… is that a personality thing of mine? I often find it difficult to do anything before I clean. OR Lord is this from you? Are you wanting this place to be clean? Are you disappointed? Do you even care? So I searched the bible for anything I could find about cleaning the house!

Surprisingly there is quite a bit God has to say to us! I was surprised. Though not every verse may specifically be “clean thy house” They hold principles God wants us to apply to our daily lives.

Isaiah 1:16 Wash you, make you clean; put away the evil of your doings from before mine eyes; cease to do evil;

This verse is quite obviously talking evil practices but I noticed that it doesn’t say repent, go to the priest and sacrifice, it simply says clean! Possibly an unkempt home is evil in the Lords eyes?  In Proverbs 14:1 Every wise woman buildeth her house: but the foolish plucketh it down with her hands. Am I building it up or tearing it down?

Proverbs 24:30 I went by the field of the slothful, and by the vineyard of the man void of understanding; 31 And, lo, it was all grown over with thorns, and nettles had covered the face thereof, and the stone wall thereof was broken down. 32 Then I saw, and considered it well: I looked upon it, and received instruction.

I have received instruction by the Lord to take care of the temple and the surroundings The bible is packed full of revelation of keeping a happy home for the Lord my Husband.

Proverbs 24:27 Prepare thy work without, and make it fit for thyself in the field; and afterwards build thine house.

I am the Temple of the Lord, my home is the work I must do without, in my field and when I have made it fit for living THEN I can work on growing and building the house within. (In the case that I avoid cleaning in order to do “spiritual things” but neglect the upkeep of the material gifts God has blessed me with)

Proverbs 31: 13 She seeketh wool, and flax, and worketh willingly with her hands. I could translate this today with “She seeks toilet bowl cleaners and vacuums, and works willingly with her hands”

27 She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness. Combining this verse with Titus 2:5 To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed. I guess these are the climax verses. The standard of God for my house that I do not yet live up to……Yet!

I am a work in progress, being changed by God from one Glory to the next. This house is just between glories right now. Soon it will be squeaky clean to the Glory of God!  Amen! (Let it be so!)

Well…Better get to work! 🙂

God Bless Your Home!

Leave a Reply

