Book of Rememberance

Malachi 3:16

Stand or Hasten?

on October 28, 2011

Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love His appearing. 2 Timothy 4:8.

This verse really struck me. I am still amazed about the wording. All those who love his appearing. I have always been taught about the crown you get for running the race and finishing. But here it says too all who love his appearing. Interesting!

Even as Christians – some don’t love His appearing ya know.  We want other things. We want him to tarry, after all there are things we want to do/experience in this world right? I mean as a women for me, I know Jesus taught there is no marriage in heaven so seriously Id rather Jesus wait a bit longer so I can experience that and then there’s pregnancy…. feeling a life growing inside. Man I want experience that!!.

I also worry so much for my loved ones that don’t know Him yet. I , I want them to get saved first, before their chance may be gone literally forever.

I agree and believe in praying  for time, standing in the gap for those who are still resisting. (Ezekiel 22:30) But there is also the difference between praying for time and wanting our stuff to happen first. We need to becareful our motives are always Holy and Godly. On the other hand we can also hasten the coming of the Lord! Definition of Hasten is: 1. To cause to hurry. 2. To speed up; accelerate. That’s crazy talk don’t you think? That we have some control over when Jesus will again return? [Looking for and hastening unto the coming of the day of God 2 Peter 3:12]

So we can choose to hasten the coming of the Lord or to stand in the gap for those still unsaved. I think there is selfishness in both. I get very offended when people want to pray for Jesus to come back. Clearly they think only of themselves and care little about the destruction that will befall those on earth who do not yet know Him. My entire family is unsaved and this hits close to home for me. The only people I know praying for Jesus to come soon are those who do not think or care about others because they themselves believe their family members to be saved and so the rest of the world is of no consequence.

On the other hand there is equally a selfishness in desire His waiting. Yes, I want everyone to have a chance to choose Christ, and we need time still for that to happen. Which one of us heard the gospel of Christ and immediately lived out everything as the scriptures said? How many of us were saved upon the fist hearing of Jesus name? I don’t know many really – but I can’t be praying for Him to give others more time if deep inside I am also secretly wanting more time to experience the life here.

The Bible presents both sides – to stand in the gap and to hasten His arrival. I think balance is the key. Yes, I desire to see Him in His Glory but at the same time …if in love I choose to wait for that Glorious Day in the hopes that one more person will accept Him and be saved from the wrath to come then I think I can wait patiently.

However, we can do both! Pray for the Lord to give time and revelation to those yet unsaved, but also continue to preach the gospel to as many as we can in the hopes of one more person will choose Life.

And if we love His appearing, look for it and hope for the day we can see Him as He is, all materialistic, current world things aside then we will have something to lay down before Him on that Glorious Day!  (Revelation 4:10)

Leave a Reply

