Book of Rememberance

Malachi 3:16

To tithe or not to tithe….That is Not the question!

on November 17, 2011

For some reason Tithing is on my mind these days. I’m not sure what God is wanting to teach me but I am open to More of Him and its His money anyhow so whatever He wants to spend it on is fine by me! (Psalm 24:1, 1 Cor. 10:26)

I find God’s economy to be rather amazing. I don’t know who’s reading this  – if anyone. I am def not here to “argue” about tithing. Fact is the Bible says to do it. Yes even New Testament believers, others wise we may as well throw out all the promises from the OT along with His guidelines, we can’t pick and choose Gods Word from those that we like and those we wish weren’t in there!

A couple other things on that is basically Jesus “corrected” those things from the OT He wanted changed (you have heard it written_____ BUT I say _____” (Matthew 5) so unless Jesus said it was changed I’m guessing it’s still in place. Not to mention He tells the hypocrites NOT to neglect tithing. “You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former”. (Matthew 23:23)

I have also heard people try to use Paul’s words to avoid tithing about deciding in you heart and being a joyful giver. (2 Cor. 9:7) However this isn’t talking about Tithing at all its talking about Offerings. Those are two different things! One God has set the parameters for the other He asks us to give freely from out of our abundant blessings.

I have never met a person who tithes, argue against tithing. Those of us who know the blessings and miracles of tithing KNOW that God is the same yesterday, today and forever. His promises likewise will not pass away.Nor do his parameters for His life. If my church doesn’t teach about tithing they are stealing a blessing God wants to pour out. And if my church is “big enough, or rich enough” to not “have to teach” on it then that means they aren’t giving enough! God is not a hoarder, nor should we be! A bit of savings is fine but not at the expense of the Kingdom.

I have not always been “good” with money. I didn’t learn how to handle money till I was in my 20s But I am so thankful I did! And then after becoming Christian Jesus began to teach me about money and studied in-depth what God has to say about money.

I have seen so many miracles it is unbelievable. Do I believe that God provides miracles to non-tithers? Of course. Is it a heaven/hell thing? I don’t think so. BUT I do think that there is something special reserved for those who Walk with God, His way.  I have a good job. It pays me WAY more than I ever need, I’m blessed in that. But a lot of people make good money and most probably make more than me. But on any given day I can walk in to work and be handed money. Random and no reason. “Just a thank you for working hard” ” I saw that you worked late” (I already get paid overtime) the list goes on and on! Most recent is the 700$ she handed me this week for wanting to keep my job! Shocking! Now, I have the same job and same boss and work the same way as I have always worked, but I can tell you that I didn’t have these “bonuses” until after I started Tithing.

I guess this is my testimony time! I felt God leading me to take Japanese Classes. I saw the price and didn’t have the money on the day it was due. I went to take out the enrollment fee and shock! I had exactly what I knew I left in that account PLUS the entire amount to pay for the class. Were talking tuition fee here, not just a couple hundred dollars! God is not a cheapo! This months miracle is that I have almost half my pay from last month still sitting in the account untouched. You’d know the miracle that is if you knew how much I give, how much I pay for rent and how much I eat! (plus Nick Carter was in town this week and that cost me a few hundred also) It doesn’t add up! Gods economy is not in +\- He MULTIPLIES!!!

I feel God is calling me to a higher level of giving, AKA Promotion time! I am excited to see what He has in store next!  I look forward to being a blessing to more people and cant wait to see where He guides His resources through me.

Our God is a generous God, John 3:16 for God so loved the world that He GAVE. I love that, that characterizes God exactly. How about me? Can that be written about me? For Bree so Loved God that she GAVE? How about you?

2 responses to “To tithe or not to tithe….That is Not the question!

  1. Nicely done – and thanks for your comments on my post. A topic that interests me is what happens to the tithing when Jesus says he came to fulfill the law, not abolish it? My conclusions (for now) is more about generosity than rules – I believe that as Christians and as a reflection of God’s generosity, we are encouraged to live modestly and give the rest away. Our task of discipleship then becomes the struggle/exploration of what it means to live modestly in order to respond to God’s grace more generously.

    Peace to you, Bree!

    • Bree says:

      Thanks, Yes I agree with you about the rules verses generosity. Overall we need to be aware of that going on around us and be ready to help and prepared to help when we can. Basically if the Christians aren’t able financially to help those in need then we have a big problem! I also believe that the 10% is more of a guideline. I once heard it said “if we are required under the law to give 10% then how much should we give under grace” and it changed my thinking on tithing and giving.I always give my “tithe” and then I pray about what the Holy Spirit wants me to offer. Sometimes its more then I “planned” other times its less. Following the Holy Spirit always leads to peace though and in the end if I don’t have peace before spending money or giving I won’t stop until I am in His Will about it. God never leaves us alone to guess 🙂

Leave a Reply

