Book of Rememberance

Malachi 3:16

Follow THE Leader

on December 26, 2011

Following Jesus means we leave the world behind, I can’t follow Him by looking back on what I am leaving or giving up for His Sake.

Luke 9:57-62

57And it came to pass, that, as they went in the way, a certain man said unto him, Lord, I will follow thee whithersoever thou goest.58And Jesus said unto him, Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests; but the Son of man hath not where to lay his head.59And he said unto another, Follow me. But he said, Lord, suffer me first to go and bury my father.60Jesus said unto him, Let the dead bury their dead: but go thou and preach the kingdom of God.61And another also said, Lord, I will follow thee; but let me first go bid them farewell, which are at home at my house. 62And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plough, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.

I highlight this passage because it speaks to each of us, no matter where we are in life or what is going on, Jesus is there speaking the very same message to us today.

In verse 57 we see a man, desiring to seek Jesus. I believe he really was sincere. BUT when Jesus told him the conditions (verse 58) in which he would be living/choosing in following God the man wasnt quite so keen.

What things, comforts, luxuries are we not willing to give up in order to follow the Lord? I have thought about this many times myself and still see so much lacking in my life as far as being ready and willing to surrender ALL for the Glory of God.

Verse 59 we see a different man in and different Situation. Jesus Himself calls the man to follow. What a privilege! Honour! Jesus, God and creator of the Universe has called you to go with Him! BUT we see the response in the very same verse (note the man was not referring to his father who had just died and needed burying, No this is referring to the man wanting to wait until his father had died before following Jesus) In other words…Not Yet Lord.

Have I said that to Him recently? Not yet Lord? Have I put Him on hold? I couldn’t imagine saying to my own boss “not right now, after” now imagine saying that to the Master of your Life! Yikes. that’s terrifying to consider.

Jesus response to that in verse 60 sheds light on the situation further. His father is not open to the Gospel. His father is not open to hearing the Word of God. and in fact he is dead already spiritually. But this man has a call (literally!) on his life to preach the Kingdom of God! Do you think he took the call?

61 we see a similar example of those wanting to do other things first. Once again in verse 61 we see a not right now, later God attitude. but Jesus makes it perfectly clear to us in verse 62. No one who is looking back , looking at that old life, at those old plans is fit for the Kingdom of God.

Its true though. How can you fully serve the Lord in His will if we are still thinking and looking back on our old ideas and plans. How we thought it was going to be, you know before God came and “messed everything up!” 🙂

Which of these men do I represent? What do I want to do first before choosing to follow Jesus?

Of course in my mind I can say “nothing” I serve the Living God! What could possibly be greater than that?” However, my prayers and life say something completely differently. As I pray and hope for a husband, and continue to enjoy the comfort of my life here in Japan it begs the question…. Am I following Jesus? Is THIS His plan and purpose for me?

It occurs to me often and it is something I have to not just fight daily but hourly even. Seeking His plan for my life, asking what He had designed for me, not what I hoped for, imagined or dreamed of.

I pray Father conform my will to Yours. My heart is in the hand of the LORD, as the rivers of water: He turneth it whithersoever He Will*. Continue to turn my heart to Your Will. I once again commit my life and surrender my desires to You. I trust You Holy Father, and I cast out the spirit of fear In Your Mighty Name Jesus of Nazareth! Thank You Lord! A million times over Thank You!!

*Proverbs 21:1

Leave a Reply

