Book of Rememberance

Malachi 3:16

Speak Now! Or Forever……….?

on January 12, 2012

I know I said I was going to talk about our gifting and talents in the next post but this has been on my heart much heavier, so Ill get to that another time!

Recently the power of words has been on my mind. Not just mine though, seems to be a prevalent topic amongst Christians these days. At my Bible study on Wednesday I brought it to the table – this idea that we have power in what we speak.

We all know the verses, they are so common and widely used. But are they widely applied? Is it just me and my immediate circle that seems to struggle with this?

I heard a podcast in which the speaker who grew up in a pastoral family said that the pastor father believed so strongly in the power of tongue to bring life and death that it was considered swearing in the family to say “that makes me sick”. Is it going to far? He believed this was bringing a possible curse, bringing that power of sickness into the one who spoke it.

At first I thought, come on that’s really pushing it! But as I studied the Word – about words; I came to see that actually the Bible does say that very same thing!

Proverbs 18:21 The power of life and death are in the tongue. Can you kill someone with your tongue? Well maybe not literally but you can surely kill their dreams, their identity, their hope, and doing so can lead to death both spiritually and physically.

Proverbs 15:4 A wholesome tongue is a tree of life: but perverseness therein is a breach in the spirit. So soothing words can bring life and healing to someone while perverse and contrary words can break the Spirit. A broken Spirit eventually leads to a dead Spirit.

We all know Jesus’ reply in the wilderness quoted directly from Deuteronomy 8:3 that He might make thee know that man doth not live by bread only, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of the LORD doth man live. But I challenge you to see. Is it not Gods Word that brings life? Not our own, But speaking the very Words out of the Mouth of God – now that has life-giving power!

Matthew 12:36-37  But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment. For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned.

So what are idle words? Those are words that do not bring life (Speaking Gods Word) or as Paul instructs Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers. (Eph. 4:29) Nothing is to come out of our mouth except these kinds of words. and Jesus warns us that we will be accountable for what we spoke and our words will either justify us (Through Christ Jesus Romans 3:24) or condemn us by our idle, useless, unwholesome talk that is slander, gossip and curses as well as cursing and lying. ect ect. All the things God has asked us to put off.

You can see this same message about reaping what we sow through our Words again in Proverbs 18:20 A man’s belly shall be satisfied with the fruit of his mouth; and with the increase of his lips shall he be filled. As well as Proverbs 13:3 He that keepeth his mouth keepeth his life: but he that openeth wide his lips shall have destruction.

James talks extensively about keeping our tongue and using it properly. Look especially into James 3.

There is great power available to us just by the words we speak. particularly speaking Gods Word. We know Isaiah 55:11 – says His Word will not return void. It will go and do what it SAYS it will do! This is a great promise and you really can’t go wrong if you are speaking the words of Gods own mouth! (So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it. )

I think there is a very strong message in Mark 11:23 It really opened my eyes to this whole idea and what God has been trying to tell us through His word for centuries!  For verily I say unto you, That whosoever shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; and shall not doubt in his heart, but shall believe that those things which he saith shall come to pass; he shall have whatsoever he saith.

It does not say whatsoever he believeth, but whatsoever he SAITH! You must speak the word. We see when Jesus was praying He did so out loud. He cried out to the Father, He spoke to everything (fig trees and demons, people and sickness, wind and waves) He didn’t just think it, or wish it He spoke it.

Last thing I want to bring up is the Bible calls the Word of God our Sword. As I talked in a previous post about the Armour of God we need to learn to wield the Sword. Knights and Swordsmen weren’t just handed a sword and sent on their way, NO! They practiced daily and extensively to become great men of war. So must we! We must learn how to wield the sword properly. Our tongue is also likened to a sword (Psalm 64:3, Proverbs 12:18, Heb. 4:12) I think there is a reason for this.

I read in Psalm 18:34  He teacheth my hands to war. David is talking about God teaching his hands to war. Likewise, if we want to be warriors of God and use our Sword properly and victoriously we too need God to teach us to war with it!  Rely on Him and He will teach you! Is. 50:4 The Lord GOD hath given me the tongue of the learned, that I should know how to speak a word in season to him that is weary: he wakeneth morning by morning, he wakeneth mine ear to hear as the learned. Is. 54: 13 And all thy children shall be taught of the LORD, John 14:26 But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you. AMEN!

I pray Holy Father for us to rely on You, and the power of Your Word to Teach us all things and guide us into living our lives as You desire us to live. For Your Glory and Honour. In Jesus Name I say!

May we all Bless God today!

Leave a Reply

