Book of Rememberance

Malachi 3:16

No Expectations

on March 29, 2012

A few weeks ago, as God began to reveal through His Word, things about my life that were not quite in alignment with His Word. I started this new journey on my daily life and routine. I began to study about the words I speak, the thoughts I think and the attitudes I carry. Also to take a clearer inventory of my feelings and the way I react to how I feel.

God will never stop amazing me I know, but seriously WOW! He is more and more incredible the more I get to know Him! (Job 9:10)

I shared in my last post about Proverbs 31:12 and how that significantly changed my life. It is still having continuous effects on me as a whole person. Gods Word is just that way – it’s the power to change us and brings life, and hope to our current living.

The next thing God began to put His finger on was my attitude and thoughts as well as my words. (as I briefly shared in a previous post speak-now-or-forever). I was challenged about expectation and hope. Actually, I didn’t have any! I was not expecting truly for God to intervene in my life in order to bring into manifestation that which I had been praying for and I had lost pretty much all hope. After all I am in Japan and there are no Christians here and my church is all women and ect ect… All the reasons to possibly lose hope – if you don’t have Jesus! But I do, and that means I have the miracle-working God on my side. There is always reason to trust, believe and hope! God is faithful and trustworthy and He loves to bring into manifestation those things which we have sought Him about.

Living without expectation is an insult to God. Its assuming He either can’t or wont do what we have asked of Him and rightly we should not think that we will receive anything. (James 1:7, Mark 11:24)

This idea of expectation came up a few times over the past few years of my life and I was kinda dense to only just sort it out now… but better late than never!

It was about 3 years ago at church camp, the two woman who came really spoke a number of prophetic things into my life and confirmed some things… told me things to come (one of which was this very blog – which if you knew me at that time it was the most ridiculous thing she could have said to me; yet here it is!) During that camp I didn’t go with any expectation of what I wanted God to do those three days. I thought I was being more “holy” because I wasn’t directing God or telling Him what I wanted. However, she told me that by not expecting God to move I was going to get exactly what I expected – nothing.  This annoyed me at the time and so I ignored it 🙂 but it turned about to be nearly accurate.

Shortly after that, I heard a Joyce Meyer teaching entitled “Expect a Move of God in You Life?” and she pretty much said the same thing! So I have changed that thought that now at least when we have an “event” at the church that  I began to pray about what I can do for God and others and also what I would like to expect from making my self available to the opportunity.

Now a few years later God is on me again about this! I felt that He wants me expectant all the time and not just for “events” I was challenged to wake up everyday expecting God to move in my life, answer prayers, speak to me, lead me and use me. (Proverbs 23:18, 24:14)

So living my daily routine of  life with expectation has made my days much more exciting! I wake up everyday and get ready to face the world saying out loud “today is the day that I’m going to meet my husband!” (Romans 8:19 – couldn’t be more accurate!!) [For the earnest expectation of the creature waiteth for the manifestation of the sons of God.] One of these days I’m bound to be right and everyday I am expecting it to be that day! (Ps. 62:5)

When I first started doing this I thought at the end of the day I’d be sad/depressed if my expectation wasn’t fulfilled, but actually the opposite has happened. I am now more open to see the hand of God in my life and have countless things to thank Him for at the end of each day! A thankful heart is a happy heart (Col 3:15) and for the first time in ….EVER! I am able to be single and HAPPY!

I don’t particularly enjoy being single. I sometimes feel really lonely and useless when I pray because I am unable to meet the requirements of  Matthew 18:20 “when two or three are gathered in my name” I’m only one LORD!!!! But through Faith I know that He is fully aware of my position and is just so pleased that I want to commune with Him and through Faith choose to believe that even though I may be one on my own – together with Him I become 4! Now that is reason to rejoice!!!

So I challenge you also.. What are you expecting? Is your hope in the Lord and His desire and ability to answer prayers? (Phil 1:20) I pray that it is and that everyday you can wake up and say today is the day God will________” and End each day with thanksgiving and appreciation for what God accomplished for you and through you that day.

Today is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it! (Psalm 118:24)

3 responses to “No Expectations

  1. Wow. You encourage me to be more humble, and use scripture verses more often.
    You have a very good point about expecting, but I think we should expect in the bounds of what God has said (1 John 5:14-15). I don’t think God would fulfill your prayers if you are praying for Brad Pitt to come and marry you after professing his belief in Christ on the red carpet. 🙂

    • Bree says:

      Yes, I agree. I think the closer to Jesus that we stay ther more alligned with His will our prayers will be. This is something I am ever pressing towards. Thanks for your thoughts!!

  2. […] Afterwards, it took another year of learning that I was part of the problem, and that much of what I was expecting was directly related to what I was receiving. This revelation totally changed EVERYTHING in my life! (You can read about it here). […]

Leave a Reply

