Book of Rememberance

Malachi 3:16

Blessed are the Peacemakers

on May 30, 2014

So a few months back I was doing a Beth Moore study on the Fruit of the Spirit. She spoke a little about peacemakers (vs. peacekeepers). It perked my ears a bit and I began to check out my bible and other passages in scripture that taught on the same theme. It was months ago and so I will paraphrase what I learned from the study, learned on my own and got from the Bible – in no particular order. I wont be able to even tell you at this point which is which! It is all one lesson in my head and so I will share what I learned but I want to be clear that ALL of this is not original to my own ideas, I can not take credit for anything that may sound intelligent.

Definitions:

Peacemaker -a person who brings about peace, especially by reconciling adversaries.

Peacekeeper – refers to one involved in activities that tend to create conditions that favor peace.

At first glance they seem almost the same, interchangeable and ideal. But fact is that peacekeeper is never used in the bible (at least not in the KJV) but peacemaker is used a few times over.

In the Strong’s Concordance you can find these 5 entries: 1514, 1515, 1516, 1517 and 1518. All talking about making peace or having made peace.

So if we think about the act of making peace (instead of just keeping the peace) we can already anticipate a struggle or trying time. Making peace usually will involve a confrontation of some sort, wouldn’t you agree? Have you ever made peace with a person or situation without having to confront? I cannot think of a single time when I intended or was required to make peace, that I did not have to do something…and in most if not all the cases….it wasn’t easy on my flesh!

Peacekeeping on the other hand is just the opposite. It typically will involve NOT confronting the situation or person, and just “keep the peace”. Keep quiet, don’t rock the boat. We want peace not a confrontation after all. It is the passive side of having peace…..and if we can be honest this usually does not work long term for us. This typically happens by us ignoring our feelings, opinions and what we think is right and just for the sake of “peace”. But internally we will not have peace at all! We will be annoyed at the least and bitter or resentful at the worst.

–side note– I understand that I am over simplifying things, and that in some cases confronting will not be the best option, and keeping quiet will truly be the Godly action for us to take. We need to be discerning of when to confront and when not to, and also WHAT to confront and what not to.  In the case of the contrast between the peacemaker and the peacekeeper I am talking about black and white, Biblical sound situations where the right thing to do for a friend, loved one, and self would be to confront with love and truth….but we just don’t want to deal with it and so we take the peacekeeper route instead..–

The Bible tells us that the Peacemakers will be blessed. I know I have a lot of growing up to do, and maturity is needed to deal with people and situations I would rather ignore and wish away. But this is not helpful to any of us, and we definitely can not grow and get passed these things if we are not willing to deal with a little mess and MAKE peace that will be long term and eventually lead to everlasting reconciliation.

We desire to live peaceably both with others but also within ourselves. Both are necessary to experience the peace of God, who is not just a peacemaker of external situations but even more importantly internal!

 

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are welcome – I learn a lot from you!

 

2 responses to “Blessed are the Peacemakers

  1. […] Slippery: Proceed with Caution Blessed are the Peacemakers » May […]

  2. […] Blessed are the Peacemakers May […]

Leave a Reply

