Book of Rememberance

Malachi 3:16

God has a plan for life?

on June 15, 2014

As a Christian, how often do we here that “God has a plan for your life”? Especially if your in and around the evangelical circles, you will hear this pretty much weekly! The question though is, “Do I believe it?” Sometimes I can’t with all honesty answer yes. Other times, I can be as sure as day that this is in fact the reality of human existence.

There are quite a few scriptures throughout the Old and New Testament that would lend to confirm this belief. (Esther, Ps. 139:6, Proverbs 19:21, Is 14:21, Jer.1:5, 29:11, Romans 8:28, Eph 2:10) However, for me the trouble (doubt?) comes when learning to distinguish our “yous” from our “you”.

This is what I mean. Sometimes in scripture God is speaking to a specific individual and that promise or word is just for that person, it may or may not apply to others, but in the context we understand that it is meant for that person pretty much alone. (For example Jer. 1:5 is specific about a particular individual who God had planned prior to birth to be a prophet.) Now taking this verse, we can expand it a bit and assume that all prophets throughout the scriptures were also chosen beforehand for the plan/ purposes of God (John the baptist is a good example as well).

However, in other cases we see that the “you” was referring to a group not necessarily an individual though it was spoken to an individual at that time.(See Genesis 48:21-22 and 50:24-25) So we see in 48 that though this word was spoken specifically to Joseph on behalf of Jacob’s faith, it never actually happened to Joseph as Jacob had said to him. Likewise we see the same scenario in 50 with Joseph telling the same thing to his brothers, though we read in Exodus 1:1 that Joesph and all of his brothers died in Egypt and, clearly a long enough time had lapsed because there arose a King who did not know Joseph. So we see the word “you” in these examples to be a plural form for the group/nation of Israel and not actually to the “you” being spoken to directly.

Now, I come to my original question. Can we easily assume that when we are confronted with the statement that “God has a plan/purpose for your life” that we can stand firm on this, no matter how we feel. No matter what we see around us, no matter how much our current situation is looking more useless than fruitful?

I do not have the answer. But I will say YES! not because I am firmly convinced of this in my own life, but because of faith. I have to have faith that God is going to allow me to serve Him. That if I will make myself available He will have mercy and be moved by my desires and include me in His plans. I keep going, doing the best I can and learning to know Him more. What else am I going to do anyhow?

There are a few options here.  1) God has a plan and I don’t know it now but I will learn it as I go and I will ultimately fulfill it through His leading or 2)God doesn’t have a specific plan for me and I just go on my life looking for ways to serve Him in my own capacity at whatever whim I feel 3) God has a plan and I am too afraid to fulfill it, or it isn’t what I expected and so I keep looking and searching never finding fulfillment or completing my goal 4) God does not have a specific “call on my life”for me aside from the general purpose of salvation, doing good, helping others, spreading the word of the Gospel and taking care of my family which when I list the few scriptures that confirm these to be true of all Christians….sure does look like a life-long plan!

I have decided that it actually doesn’t matter! Whether I can confidently say and prove experientially that “this is exactly what I was created to be doing, I was born for such a time as this” or not. I have things I can be doing a)while I wait to confirm a plan or b) until I die! No sense in wasting time because I do not feel as “sure” as others about my specific job in this generation. I could wait and hope and pray and wish and wait some more until I have the confirmation I was hoping for. Or I could hope and pray and wait for the confirmation in the midst of pressing towards holiness, maturity and a deeper relationship with Christ.  I think that in this particular time of my life while in limbo between two counties, lives and futures God is much more bent on my serving him internally, and becoming more and more spotless, sinless and blameless than in putting me in a job I feel more useful at.

And wouldn’t you know, that no matter what specific call or job God may have planned for my life (if he has one in mind), it will absolutely require me to be less sinful, spotted, and blameable anyway. So I’m getting started on this plan for now, and we will see what God may do next.

God has every detail covered! He sure is smart!

Blessings to you,

-Bree

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

